One woman's amazing journey from hobby writer to published author

Here I go again…

(And no, I’m not going to start singing the Whitesnake song.  But I know you were all thinking it.  Some of you, anyway.)

Anyway.  Hi.  Welcome to my more-personal-but-still-just-about-my-writing blog.  Unlike the Wyoming Haiku Project, this one is going to be informal, and full of my thoughts on writing in general.  Hopefully as I progress it will come to include things about the long road to publication as well.

I guess I should probably tell you all a little bit about me.  I’ve been writing since I was seven, so from about the time I learned how to form words on a page.  I still remember my first story being about fairies and a missing object they needed to find to save the kingdom.  I don’t remember much more than that, but it’s safe to say that it was my first foray into the genre of fantasy.  I’ve stayed in that genre for a long time, but I don’t consider myself JUST a fantasy writer.  I write everything from haiku to erotica; it depends on my mood and which idea hits me hardest.

I’m not published yet, but I’m finally at a point in my life where I can say it’s not because I suck.  It’s because I’m a coward who fears those rejection slips- the heavy paper blows to the fragile ego.   It’s because I fear what might happen if I get to make a living doing something I love.  I fear I’ll get burned out and never want to write again.

If there’s one thing I’m trying to accomplish here… It’s to get out of that mindset, out of the ranks of amateurs, into the world of published authors, and maybe help someone else along the way by letting them see how my own journey is.  I’m not deluded enough to think that my way is going to be the right way.  It won’t be.  But it’ll be my way.

(And now we’ve got Frank Sinatra going.  Great.)

Jenna

Leave a Reply

