Fantasy, Romance, and Other Genre Fiction

Camp and the first line

So.  Camp NaNoWriMo started six days ago.  It’s like the standard Nano event in November, except it’s on a smaller scale with more intimate groups (“cabins” of 5-6 people) and less of the crazy pressure that drives the main event.

I’m six days behind.  Between the finishing of my last summer class, helping my best friend move, and then packing and going out of town, I haven’t really had the time to write.   It might have been easier to make time, if I knew where to start.   I’m one of those people that can let the words flow for a long time, but only if I know my starting point and direction.  I don’t have that starting point yet, that one scene that grabs the reader and pulls him into the story.    I’ve always been pretty good with in medias res beginnings, but I’m not sure what event that’s supposed to be this time.

Unfortunately, the clock keeps ticking.  I better figure this out soon, if I want to use “camp” to my advantage.  Right now I only have to write 2,000 words a day in order to reach that 50,000 word mark.  I think I’d really rather not have to write more than that in a day if I can help it.

Wish me luck.  I’m clearly going to need it in order to redeem my horrible showing of November 2010.

Leave a Reply

