Fantasy, Romance, and Other Genre Fiction

Nano 2011

So, it’s that time of year again.  I’ve been neglecting almost all of my creative works, except for the bare minimum I have to do to get by in my creative writing class this semester.   I’m sitting right at 7400 words in my NaNoWriMo project.  Those of you familiar with National Novel Writing Month will know that on the 17th of November, 7400 words is a BAD place to be sitting if you want to finish on time.  Luckily I have all of next week, but I’m not even a fifth of the way through yet.

I’ve decided that it’s difficult to do Nano when you’re in school, trying to get your own business going, worrying about family, and wondering how you’re going to pay next month’s rent.  Add fibromyalgia to the mix and life just sort of sucks, really.  I don’t think I’m surprised that my creative energies are low.  Disappointed, yes, but not really surprised.

So where am I going with this?

I’m only at 7400 words because I’m stuck.  No amount of “just write through it or make yourself skip it” has been able to provide me with the next segment I need.  I don’t know if trying to start at the beginning of the Soldaris Saga was just a dumb move on my part, and if I should have started at a different point in the series… or if I should have picked a different project altogether.   It’s a little late to be second-guessing myself.   Definitely too late to start over.  And yet, I am very tempted to try.

So really, I guess I’m going nowhere.  I’m still sitting at 7400 words, and just wrote 275 words here instead of on my novel.  It hasn’t been like pulling teeth, which is what I need.  I don’t need to keep fighting this story if it doesn’t want to go anywhere.

All of this leaves only the question: what am I going to do instead?

Comments on: "Nano 2011" (2)

  1. I found myself starting a section, getting stuck, leaving it, starting another. Trying to fill in the blanks now. Ugh! Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

