One woman's amazing journey from hobby writer to published author

Determination, Day 3

Today was a long day.  Spent some time at the local library picking out books to read that are popular for the audiences I’m writing for these days.  I have a lot of reading ahead of me this week, but I can’t coast on talent alone anymore.  I’ve got to put in the work if I want the rewards.  I’m actually feeling pretty excited about making myself get off the computer to read and write.  They’re things I enjoyed that I let fall by the wayside as this machine took over my life.  It’s so nice to be reclaiming the things I love.

I did get some writing done this morning.  I wish it had been more, but I’m not going to complain about the fact that I got something down.   That I’ve been getting at least plotting work done for the last couple of weeks.   It feels good to feel good… I missed out on so much when I was so sick.  But on the downside,  I’m feeling a little discouraged because of job stuff.  I’m not yet so successful as a writer that I can afford not to have a day job.   I’m optimistic that something is going to come up soon, as long as I keep working at it.

I’m going to dream a bit here.   When I manage to become successful and even famous, there are a few causes I’d love to contribute to.   NaNoWriMo’s literacy programs, for one.  Domestic violence prevention programs.  And maybe most personal for me, mental illness and fibromyalgia awareness.  I feel like an entirely different person now that I know what’s going on with me and how to at least mitigate it.  If I can help even just one person feel better, then I’d love to contribute to that.   Money, time, talent… It’s important to give back.  So I’m making the promise to myself that when I manage to make it, I’m going to give back.

Leave a Reply

