One woman's amazing journey from hobby writer to published author

Why don’t they behave?

This is something that I’ve asked myself about my children in the past, but in this particular case, it’s my other set of children: my characters. I was getting a lot of work done today at my local gaming store ( I love my nearby geek community) when one of my characters decided that he wanted to show up in the prologue of book one, instead of halfway through book two as I had in my outline.

Now don’t get me wrong. I am not adverse to adjusting my plans in order to accommodate new ideas and new characters and new directions in my writing. Sometimes it’s the best thing to happen to a story that’s not going anywhere.  But in this case, I feel like the character is doing nothing more than getting greedy for page time. There is no reason for me to rewrite my entire series outline simply because he wants more attention. So why is he showing up in this prologue? Is there a chance I could take this scene out of the prologue and put it elsewhere?  I’m torn between saying “No! Bad character!” or just running with it.

Does anyone else have problems with characters running away?  What do you do when that happens?

In other news, I’m submitting a story to Writers of the Future in the morning, after I’ve done my final edits tonight.  I’m cautiously optimistic.  This is the same story that got the very lovely rejection letter… Maybe this is the right place to submit it.  I’m starting to learn that it’s all about where you submit and who you know.  I’m trying to network in my local geek and writing community.  I’m hoping that it turns out well because the local geek celebs are people that I have looked up to for years and years.  It would be nice to be able to call them colleagues someday, instead of doing the hero-worship thing.

Determination is starting to pay off.  I’m feeling the momentum of awesome.  I am awesome and I finally know it, in spite of a rough couple of days (and 29 years) behind me.   Nothing can stop me now!

 

Comments on: "Why don’t they behave?" (2)

  1. Another option for this runaway character and scene is to write it up, set it aside, and use it for another project. It doesn’t necessarily need to be in this novel.

    Like

    • I agree. It doesn’t need to be where it’s trying to be. But it’s worth keeping and exploring further as a crucial scene later on in the series. It does definitely belong to this project, though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

