Fantasy, Romance, and Other Genre Fiction

Um, yeah.

So.  November has come and gone, and with it, many hours of sleep that I could have potentially gotten if I wasn’t working two on-my-feet-constantly-busy jobs AND going to school.  I tried to win Nanowrimo, but there just was not enough time for me to sit down and get my thoughts gathered every day.   I still managed a rather healthy showing of 22,000 words, which was better than 2010 and 2011 combined.   I’m still a little disappointed, though, because my last win was 72.5K words in 2009 and I know I’m capable of so much more than what I was able to get this year.  Next year, however, I fully intend to be working only one job and not going to school every morning.  That should help with my writing.

The thing is, just because I didn’t hit 50K words in one month, doesn’t mean that I’m going to stop writing on this project.  When I take my time but still write fairly steadily, I can usually put out a decent novel in three months.  Or at least that’s how it was when I was younger.  I may be starting to turn into an old lady here.  It might take me four or five months.   But it happens, when I’ve got the story and the determination.

Just need to find the motivation and determination once again.  I know it’s buried deep inside under layers of emotional bull poo and divorce trauma and fibromyalgia sucking the life out of me.  Somewhere inside is the person that I used to be and I think it’s time to find her again and finish chasing my dream of becoming a published author.   Not that I’ll stop there, but that’s where one dream ends and another similar dream of a much grander scale begins.

2013 is going to be my year.  I can feel it.  And what a 30th birthday present it would be to give myself  if I finally got published this year.

Leave a Reply

