Fantasy, Romance, and Other Genre Fiction

A prelude to LTUE digestion

So I’ve spent the last two days at Life, the  Universe, and Everything.  It’s a fantastic, wonderful conference.  I hesitate to call it a convention, because there are so many things that set it apart from the stereotypical cons.  I’ve been enjoying the last two days, and there’s still one more day to go.   My brain is so full of new and useful information about areas of writing and publishing that I’ve never felt ready to tackle before, such as finding an agent and marketing and self-promotion.  I wasn’t ready to look at these things before because I wasn’t confident enough in my abilities as a writer.  But after the very encouraging rejection letters I’ve gotten so far, I am starting to think that maybe I’m not as bad as my sadistic inner doubter would like me to believe.

There is so much that I have learned these past few days that my brain feels ready to burst.   I think in the next few days I am going to sit down with my notes, and process everything I’ve learned.  I intend to do a lot of integrating of some strategies into my life by way of small changes.  I also imagine that I will look at some of my notes, and while those things are something to think about, it is likely that I will toss them out the window because they don’t jive with my way of doing things.

I’m not going to post my notes here.  That’s not why I’m taking them, and it wouldn’t be fair to the presenters and panelists who worked to put things together to just steal their stuff (although I would be giving full credit to them, but it doesn’t feel quite right).   What I will be doing in the next few days is picking and choosing a few points that really spoke to me, and then elaborating on them.

So stay tuned.  I started picking a theme for every year a couple years ago, and there are many more things to come in 2013: The Year of Doing.

Leave a Reply

