One woman's amazing journey from hobby writer to published author

Wham! and lists

So… apparently that feverish feeling that I was getting the day after LTUE?  Actually a fever.  I’ve been out of things lately.  Between the sinus infection borne of the underworld, and the resultant vertigo (which was far worse than the congestion and ick by far), it’s been all I can do to manage day-to-day activities such as taking care of myself, going to my day job, etc.  My writing has, unfortunately, suffered because of it.   And I still haven’t fully processed LTUE.  I’ve been too sick.   BUT.   I am feeling much better now, and just because I wasn’t doing a lot of writing doesn’t mean that there wasn’t a lot of idea-marinating and pre-writing happening in the back of my mind.

I sat down with these ideas last night and made three lists for the rest of 2013.  The first list is what I want to write this year, the second is made up of the things that I want to accomplish as an author.    The third list is a little different; it’s the list of all the things I want to do with my personal life to make achieving the items on the other two lists possible.

I’ve got a lot of things that I want to write this year.  I definitely want to improve my skills at short-form fiction by writing one story a month at least.  My fantasy saga needs to have the rough draft of the whole thing finished by the end of this year.  I want to rework the outline/structure for an old YA project that still holds a lot of potential.  I want to write a romance novel.

These all, of course, tie into what I want to see happen for me as an author.  This will be the year that I find an agent, and this will be the year that I manage my first published work as an adult.   Even if it doesn’t appear in print this year, I am determined to at least be under contract by the end of December.   And I want to keep coming to this blog with my thoughts, my hopes, my dreams, my ambitions.  I want to share myself and my stories with the world.

I’m not going to share much of the third list.  A lot of it is too personal, and I feel like some of it is too condemning of my weaknesses.  I know that most people probably don’t judge me nearly as harshly as that little black depression-monster on my shoulder would like me to believe they do.  It’s still hard for me to get personal in such a public forum because of it.  And that’s okay.  We all have our boundaries and our own personal challenges.

For some, it’s depression or other mental illness, and if I can raise awareness that not all crippling diseases can be seen, then I will have done something good on this Earth before I leave it.   I don’t mean to get up on a soapbox here.  I just want to encourage people to be kind to one another, because you never know what someone else is struggling with.

Anyway.  Lest I ramble any further, I believe it is time to wrap up this post, and get back to work.  These projects aren’t going to write themselves.

Leave a Reply

