Fantasy, Romance, and Other Genre Fiction

I first came to the awareness of this topic when Brandon Sanderson posted a guest entry on his blog by Elise Matthesen.   Since then, other figures in my sphere of writing-community-people-who-influence-me have also taken up the cause, such as Howard Tayler (Schlock Mercenary) and most notably John Scalzi.

I have decided that Scalzi is not only an awesome writer, but a fabulous, super-awesome human being as well.  He has started a movement where he will not attend conventions that do not have clearly defined and enforceable harassment policies.  Yes, I made the link that big so that you can’t miss it when you go to click on it because THIS IS IMPORTANT.  Further clarification and addressing of the issues can be found in this post.     I would love to see other authors, illustrators, actors, vendors, etc. in the sci-fi and fantasy community follow suit.

There is a place for others to co-sign onto the policy.  I urge you all to consider doing so.    I have co-signed this informal agreement both as convention attendee, and a hopeful future guest of conventions.   (As of this moment, I’m not sure about Salt Lake Comic Con; I’m waiting to hear back from them.  I’d hate not to be able to go because of sticking to my principles, but it is what it is.)

I’ll end this with a disclaimer:  I know I don’t have a ton of followers or a large reach in the writing  community.  (Said with a very hopeful “yet” tacked onto the end there.)  But if I can make a difference to even one person?  Then this is worth every word I took the time to write.

Comments on: "Convention Harassment Movement" (1)

  1. […] author who treats his fans well, and he uses the popularity he has to fight for good causes.  The convention anti-harassment movement is Scalzi’s brain child, for example.   He is another of those authors that I look at and […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

