One woman's amazing journey from hobby writer to published author

Fear of the Dark

It’s always serendipitous in a freaky sort of way when you’re writing a really tense scene about being chased in a thunderstorm… and Van Canto’s cover of Fear of the Dark by Iron Maiden pops up on random in Spotify.   Hence the title of the entry…   Doesn’t help that my vertigo is making the shadows in the room look like they’re moving!

So I started out on Camp Nanowrimo with the intention of making a serious dent in the rewrite of the first book of the Soldaris saga.  That’s changed.

I wouldn’t exactly call this a problem, but I’ve been watching way too much Sailor Moon lately.  This isn’t necessarily a bad thing because it fills my creative well in such an efficient way.  It does make working on epic fantasy a little difficult, though.

Lucky for me, I’ve got this story called Shadowfighter.  I doubt that it’s going to keep that title by the time all is said and done, but it’s what it’s been called since I was seventeen, when I wrote the first draft.  Needless to say, it’s been a long time since I wrote that first draft.  I’m not saying how many years it’s been because that is just going to make me feel old.

The story basically follows a teenage girl who discovers her place as an immortal warrior in a modern world.  That is, perhaps, way oversimplifying it, because there is much more to it than that.  But I think those of you who are familiar with Sailor Moon will find it self-explanatory why having my well filled this way would lend itself so well to Shadowfighter rather than my Soldaris Saga.

Shadowfighter is in that almost-desperate final stage of a work.  I’ve been working on it for so long, and it’s been a pet project.  A lot of people might argue that I should have let it go a long time ago,  but I’ve never been able to bring myself to do that.  I recognize that it’s only got this one last chance.  Either I polish it up into something that is worthy of submitting, or I let it go and let it remain something that propelled me to what I am but that never sees the light of day.

I found inspiration today, and I think that it’s time to give it that last chance at a rewrite with skills that far surpass where I was in high school.

But it might have to wait until morning.  You know, when the sun is shining and the shadows aren’t moving anymore.  🙂

Leave a Reply

