One woman's amazing journey from hobby writer to published author

I got this idea from one of my friends who is an avid book reader and keeps a list of the books she’s going to read in one month.  She writes pretty thorough, concise reviews on her blog afterward.

As writers, we’re told that we need to be constantly reading.  Reading in our genre, reading for our research, reading to learn how to write better in the first place.  I’m trying to read more and spend less time on the internet.  Now that I’m getting healthier, I find I have less tolerance for the internet and more time and patience for books (both writing and reading)!

July is just about over, so I figure I’ll put my August list up.  I won’t be writing extensive reviews of these books, but I may mention one or two things as I finish them, like if they’re worth the time or not.  I will also update this list if I manage to finish what I’m reading and want more!

The list: (in no particular order)

An asterisk (*) denotes that  a book is being read for a particular purpose to serve the projects I discussed earlier.

Classic of the Month

  • The Metamorphosis– Franz Kafka

Fiction, Adult

  • Dragons of Autumn Twilight– Tracy Hickman
  • The Deed of Paksenarrion- Elizabeth Moon
  • Nebula Awards Showcase 2013– ed. Catharine Asaro*
  • The Courtship of Princess Leia– Dave Wolverton (Farland)

Fiction, Young Adult

  • The Little Prince– Antoine de Saint Exupery
  • The Rithmatist- Brandon Sanderson

Non-Fiction

  • A History of Warfare– John Keegan*
  • Living the Martial Way– Forrest E. Morgan*

On Writing/Self-help

  • The Artist’s Way (chapters 1-5)- Julia Cameron*
  • The Right to Write- Julia Cameron
  • Bird by Bird- Anne Lamott
  • Drawing out the Dragons- James A. Owen

Audiobooks

  • Here, There Be Dragons (unabridged)- James A. Owen

Visual Stories (comics, manga, graphic novels)

  • Sailor Moon (if I can get my hands on it)- Takeuchi Naoko

Periodicals

  • Asimov’s– August 2013*
  • Analog– September 2013*
  • Glimmer Train– Summer 2013*
  • Writer’s Digest– July/August 2013
  • Poets & Writers– May/June 2013
  • The Writer– July 2013

I’m going to put these books all into their own box in my room  (except the ones on Kindle and Audible, obviously).  Maybe I’ll even decorate the box all pretty and write “books of the month” on it somewhere.

I think I know what my next craft project is…..

Leave a Reply

