Fantasy, Romance, and Other Genre Fiction

Nanowrimo Day 5

I’d forgotten how freeing it feels for me to be writing for hours on end. Anyone who has written a novel or even a story or a paper can tell you that writing is most definitely work, and quite often hard work at that. But to me, it’s the best sort of work there possibly is. Yes, my hands and shoulders and head hurt by the end of a day spent writing. Yes, I have itchy, watery eyes from staring at a computer screen all day. But I also have something tangible to show for it. I can measure my progress in words, in chapters, in stories and novels completed. THIS is what I was born to do. This is the sort of work that I can do all day and never get truly tired of it. Granted, there are times where I want to take my journals or my laptop and throw them out the window because something about the story is frustrating me, but in the end, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

(Let’s see if I’m still saying that on December 1st.)

Comments on: "Nanowrimo Day 5" (2)

  1. There truly is no greater feeling. All those built up words spilling out in a usable form.

    Like

    • I agree! What I want to know is how I could have ever forgotten how good it feels. I guess I just got distracted by the intense emotional and physical pain of the rest of my life.

      Like

Leave a Reply

