One woman's amazing journey from hobby writer to published author

Nanowrimo day 7

So I didn’t get much writing done yesterday (day 6) because my boyfriend was in town.  Distance relationships are hard enough to maintain without me saying “oh, you’re here, yay!  Now let me ignore you while I write.”   Was NOT going to happen that way.   It was, however, a much-needed and fabulous day where I maybe got just a little spoiled.   Some guys buy their girlfriends flowers; my boyfriend buys me gaming dice.  I think I win.  ❤

Now, it’s possible that I might have known on Monday night that I wouldn’t have much time to write on Wednesday, and that’s why I worked so hard to get ahead on Monday and Tuesday.  By the end of Tuesday (day 5) I was sitting at 12,169, which was a good two days ahead.  As of writing this, I’m at 12,486, with  all of that increase from yesterday.  (See?  I got some writing done anyway, if only 300 words or so.)   I haven’t really gotten to writing yet today, and I’m still ahead of today’s par of 11,666.

Now, I’m not going to lie.  I am tempted not to do any work at all today and to pick up in the morning.  I’m having a bad fibromyalgia day and my depression isn’t liking me much either.   I sat down to write once this morning already, and discovered  after only one sentence that my entire magic system wants to be a completely different way than I had planned.  A better way, thank goodness, but it’s still a major change that is going to require me to sit down and revise my outlines.  The question is, do I sacrifice word count for plotting time?  Or perhaps ignore them both in favor of rest because it’s one of those days where I can feel and be hurt by the weight of every hair on my body?  (Someday I need to actually WRITE about fibromyalgia here, not just talk about it.)

I haven’t decided.  Maybe this is that moment where that initial rush finally wears off and I have to settle in for an endurance race instead of a sprint.  It happens to us all (unless you’re one of the people that somehow manages all 50k words in the first few days).  Maybe it’s just hitting me.  I’ll have to think about it, see what it is, and decide from there.  The last thing I want to do is get behind.  I haven’t won since 2009 and that is changing this year.   I WILL win… even if it means writing through very bad fibro days to do it.

Now if I could just get my ribs to stop hurting long enough to live up to what I just said…

Leave a Reply

