Fantasy, Romance, and Other Genre Fiction

So, I’ve been quiet…

But here’s why:

I didn’t want to say anything until it was official, but I  finally have a worthwhile and fulfilling full-time job.  The past few weeks have been filled with paperwork and interviews, and yesterday I finished my first week at work.  It is awesome.  This is the job I want to keep until my publisher says I have to start going on book tours.  And since I haven’t been picked up by any big publishers yet, it may be a while still before that happens.  And I am oddly okay with that.  This gives me a chance to actually focus on writing when I’m at home, instead of stressing about other things I “should” be doing.

Anyone else who writes can tell you just how much chronic life stress will take a toll on your ability to connect with the ideas and inspiration just sitting inside you waiting to be tapped.  And thinking about things today, I realized that I’ve had something close to ten years of a lot of stress.  No wonder I haven’t been anywhere close to as productive as I might have  liked.  I’ve spent a lot of time learning how to let things go and how not to stress about things not under my control.  I’m hoping that once financial stress starts easing its death grip on me, that productivity will shoot up.  It usually does.   I’m curious how many other writers experience this stress cycle with their writing.  (Don’t be afraid to comment!)

Anyway.  That’s the extremely good reason that I’ve been so quiet these past few weeks.  Looking forward to doing awesome things with this new chapter of my life.

 

Comments on: "So, I’ve been quiet…" (2)

  1. Congratulations, Jenna! And welcome back. I find that, to a certain extent, I write more when I’m stressed, as a way to cope with (or sometimes escape) the stress. It depends on if I’m physically able to write, or if I have to running around like a headless chicken trying to get things accomplished. Good luck with the job, and the writing, and keep us posted!

    Like

Leave a Reply

