One woman's amazing journey from hobby writer to published author

NaNoWriMo Week One report

So, the first week of NaNoWriMo has been interesting.  It started with a weekend full of food poisoning.  I wasn’t able to get that first day surge that I was hoping for.  Managed to catch up on Sunday, but then the work week came into play.  I’ve managed to get to 5k, and I’ve been sitting there for a couple of days because even though I had time to write last night, the Universe in all its infinite wisdom decided that I needed a migraine.   But tonight’s going to be bookstore time, and tomorrow is write-ins, and Sunday is quiet time.  I’m very determined to make the best of it.

I also decided to ditch the project I was going to do.  The outlining had me frustrated to the point of wanting to throw my computer out of the window before I even started Nano and I took that as a bad sign.  So I’ve returned to the Soldaris Saga, trying to knock out the next book.   The first five thousand words have revealed a lot of the things that I’ve been wondering about some of the places and characters for a couple of years now.  So I don’t think I’m going to complain about the change in project.

I have an excerpt from the novel up on the NaNoWriMo site if you’d like to read it.  I’m very pleased with it as part of a first draft.    I also have my other projects from past years with their excerpts on the site.  So please go read, let me know what you think, and enjoy.    You can follow my progress there, or off to the side here on my blog.

Wish me luck catching up this weekend.  I know I can do it, but a little bit of encouragement never hurts!

Leave a Reply

