One woman's amazing journey from hobby writer to published author

Starting off a new year

Holiday hectic time is over.  This year I had my kids who live with my Ex during the school year visiting me, so if I’ve been quiet between that and the post-Nanowrimo de-stressing, I’m sure you can all understand.   🙂

But without any further ado, I’d like to say just one thing:  I have a very good feeling about 2015 and what it’s going to mean for my writing.

For a while there, I gave every year a theme.  “This is the Year of ____.”  I’ve had the year of awesome, the year of doing things, the year of self-discipline.  2014 passed without being labeled, for whatever reason, but I’m feeling like 2015 needs something.

2015 is the Year of Dreams.

This is the year where I finally get a story accepted to Sword and Sorceress (third time’s the charm, right?).  This is the year where I self-publish AND see decent sales.  This is the year that I manage to gain an agent and/or a publisher.  This is the year where I might actually get somewhere with Writers of the Future.  This is the year I apply for a dream job, not because I think I’ll be able to get it, but just to say that I’m chasing my dream. This is the year I go back to school to finish my degree–and it will finally be in creative writing instead of something “more practical”.

Above all, this is the year where I stop letting naysayers hold me back, including the biggest naysayer of them all: myself.  This is the year I let go of fear and just go for it.  Every opportunity, every chance will be taken.  This is the year I stop talking about following my dreams and actually do it instead.

Bear with me.  I think it’s going to be the craziest and most amazing year yet.

Leave a Reply

