One woman's amazing journey from hobby writer to published author

Dear Characters

Dear Characters,

I’m sorry I’ve been neglecting you these past few months. I’ve had a lot of major life transitions this past year: got laid off, found a new job, moved to a new city, broke up for good with the love of my life-up-until-now, ventured unsucessfully into dating again, got promoted to another new job that had some really intense training, started school again, had a car die on me and got a new one, got bad news about my health and started making big lifestyle changes, and finally decided that rocking the single life is where it’s at. I’ve leveled up quite a bit as an adult.

But all these things, both the bad and the good, leave me feeling like I had to put my writing life on hold to manage them.  There’s a backlog of unpublished blog post drafts that I got ideas for and never finished.  A dearth of tweets and Facebook posts. That goal I had of getting published before LTUE 2016? Not going to happen in the next three weeks. The novel revisions and rewrites I was going to finish for the Soldaris Saga are still waiting to happen. And the first drafts of anything else were never even touched.

But.

The good news is, with the exception of possibly moving to a different apartment two blocks from my current residence in May, I think I’m done with the major life-stressing transitions for now.

What does this mean for us?  It means, dear characters, that I will be able to return to your worlds and devote more time to your stories.  It means that I can return to that part of me I’ve been missing where I sit and enjoy the magic of making you come alive from mere words, and the richness of environs beyond my mundane surroundings.

It might take me a while to get back into good habits, but the neglect ends here and now.  I’m coming home to you. Please wait for me.

Love,
Me

Leave a Reply

