One woman's amazing journey from hobby writer to published author

About Coffee

Life happens, especially with chronic illness, and I think we all understand that.  Today I just want to talk about writing, and some of how it works for me.

I’ve decided to give the Soldaris Saga a little bit of a break.  I was getting far too frustrated with it, and grumpy about having to set other ideas on the back burner because of it.  Yes, I know that’s not how editing and publishing deadlines work.  But since I don’t currently have an editor, a publisher, or a scheduled date of release, I thought it was time to give myself a break and let me feed my muse for a while.

I’ve got an awesome fantasy romance coming together, and an episodic KDrama-flavored story I want to start on Wattpad or something (yes, I’ll post details when I get it going, and yes, I will probably talk about the KDrama addiction in a later post),  and I’ve been posting Shadowfighter, and writing for class, and writing short stories to submit (including entering Writers of the Future two quarters in a row now), and meanwhile Soldaris continues to fix itself in the back of my head.

This is the hardest part of writing for me.  The being able to step back and let it go on its own.  For me, it’s like brewing coffee.  You add the coffee to the machine, which is the characters and the world-building, you add the water that makes it all work, which is the plot…  and then you sit back and let it percolate.  And eventually it all comes out through the filter of author’s vision and writing and editing, and you have your coffee.  But it doesn’t happen instantly, and if and when it does…. Well, there’s a reason instant coffee doesn’t sell well.  It’s because it’s just not as good as the brewed stuff.

So maybe I’ve been a little more delayed on my big projects than I might have liked.  But for now? It’s all still brewing while I work on the smaller stuff, and that’s okay.  🙂

Leave a Reply

